P. Zamperoni Award

It is the policy of the IAPR to make an award at each ICPR for the best paper authored by a student. The primary purpose of this award is to acknowledge and encourage excellence in pattern recognition research by students, and to help assure the future livelihood of the field. The award also honours the memory of Dr. Piero Zamperoni, an outstanding educator in pattern recognition.

Eligibility for the award is restricted to papers authored or co-authored by a student. The student must be the first author of the paper. If the paper is co-authored, then the other author(s) must certify that the work presented in the paper is primarily the work of the student. The student author must have been a registered student at the time of paper submission.

When submitting their contributions, students should make known that they satisfy the education criteria.

The selection of the award winner is made by the IAPR Education Committee. The selection criteria include the following:

  • topic: the paper should make its contribution in the field of pattern recognition;
  • technical quality: the paper's technical contribution should be as important as possible, highly original and technically sound;
  • presentation: the paper should communicate its results in an exemplary style, with strong organisation, appropriate discussion of prior work, and general clarity and integrity.

It is the responsibility of The Education Committee to try to find suitable sponsorship for the award so as to fund some token to be presented to the winner.

The rules for the competition for the award will be published on the ICPR web site. The name of the winner will be announced both in the IAPR Newsletter and on the IAPR web site and the award will be presented at the ICPR conference banquet.

2022 Award Winner in Montreal

Pritish Sahu, Kalliopi Basioti, and Vladimir Pavlovic
DAReN: A Collaborative Approach Towards Visual Reasoning And Disentangling

2020 Award Winner in Milan

Sarah Bechtle, Artem Molchanov, Yevgen Chebotar, Edward Grefenstette, Ludovic Righetti, Gaurav Sukhatme, Franziska Meier (co-recipients Sarah Bechtle and Artem Molchanov)
Meta Learning via Learned Loss

2018 Award Winner in Beijing

Kunkun Pang, Mingzhi Dong, Yang Wu, Timothy Hospedales
Dynamic Ensemble Active Learning: A Non-Stationary Bandit with Expert Advice

2016 Award Winner in Cancun

Sungmin Eum and David Doermann
Content Selection Using Frontalness of Multiple Frames

2014 Award Winner in Stockholm

Avinash Kumar and Narendra Ahuja
Generalized Radial Alignment Constraint for Camera Calibration

2012 Award Winner in Tsukuba

Xiaoyang Wang and Qiang Ji
Incorporating Contextual Knowledge to Dynamic Bayesian Networks for Event Recognition

2010 Award Winner in Istanbul

Xiaojie Guo and Xiaochun Cao
Triangle-Constraint for Finding More Good Features

2008 Award Winner in Tampa Bay

Ming Zhao and Ronald Chung
Critical Configurations of Lines to Geometry Determination of Three Cameras

2006 Award Winner in Hong Kong

Fan Zhang and Edwin Hancock
A Reimannian Weighted Filter for Edge-sensitive Image Smoothing

2004 Award Winner in Cambridge

Xiaochun Cao and Hassan Foroosh

2002 Award Winner in Quebec City

Mircea Nicolescu and Gerard Medioni

2000 Award Winner in Barcelona

Maxime Lhuillier and L. Quan

1998 Award Winner in Brisbane

Mark Peters and Arcot Sowmya

1996 Award Winner in Vienna

Sebastian Roy and Ingemar Cox