History of IAPR

IAPR came into official existence in January 1978. Following the Second International Conference on Pattern Recognition in 1974 in Copenhagen, the Standing Committee approved the proposal to establish a permanent international professional organization; two years later, the Constitution was approved in Coronado and Executive Officers were elected.

Today, the responsibility for the day-to-day running of IAPR is delegated to an Executive Committee, assisted by Standing and ad hoc committees. The authority of the Association is vested in the Governing Board, composed of representatives of the member organizations, who decide all important matters such as general policy, the program of activities, admissions, elections, and budget.

Detailed History of the IAPR (pdf)

IAPR Foundation

During the 2nd IJCPR (Int. Joint Conf. on Pattern Recognition), the Standing Committee approved the proposal of establishing a permanent international professional organization for pattern recognition. After one year of preparation, IAPR was formally founded during the 3rd IJCPR in Coronado, USA (1976). The IAPR Constitution was approved by the Standing Committee and ExCo officers were elected. Three committees (Publication, Conference and Membership) were organized. A special committee drafted the Bylaws which were approved by the Standing Committee in early 1977. The 4th IJCPR was the first IAPR sponsored conference.

LocationGeneral Chair
 19731st IJCPRWashington D.C., USAK.S. Fu
 19742nd IJCPRCopenhagen, DenmarkC.J.D.M. Verhagen
 19763rd IJCPRCoronado, USAA. Rosenfeld
 19784th IJCPRKyoto, JapanM. Nagao
 19805th ICPRMiami, USAT. Pavlidis
 19826th ICPRMunich, GermanyH. Marko
 19847th ICPRMontreal, CanadaM.D. Levine
 19868th ICPRParis, FranceJ.-C. Simon
 19889th ICPRRome, ItalyS. Levialdi
 199010th ICPRAtlantic City, USAH. Freeman
 199211th ICPRThe Hague, The NetherlandsE.S. Gelsema & E. Backer
 199412th ICPRJerusalem, IsraelS. Peleg & S. Ullman
 199613th ICPRVienna, AustriaW.G. Kropatsch
 199814th ICPRBrisbane, AustraliaT. Caelli & A. Maeder
 200015th ICPRBarcelona, SpainA. Sanfeliu & J.J. Villanueva
 200216th ICPRQuebec City CanadaC.Y. Suen
 200417th ICPRCambridge, UKJ. Kittler
 200618th ICPRHong KongYuan Yan Tang
 200819th ICPRTampa, USAR. Kasturi
 201020th ICPRIstanbul, TurkeyAytul Ercil
 201221th ICPRTsukuba Science City, JapanJ.-O. Eklundh & Y. Ohta & S. Tanimoto
 201422nd ICPRStockholm, SwedenMagnus Borga
 201623rd ICPRCancun, MexicoEduardo Bayro-Corrochano
 201824th ICPRBeijing, ChinaTieniu Tan & Josef Kittler & Anil Jain
 202025th ICPRMilan, ItalyRita Cucchiara & Alberto Del Bimbo & Stan Sclaroff

IAPR Presidents

 1976-1978  King Sun Fu
 1978-1980Herbert Freeman
 1980-1982Azriel Rosenfeld
 1982-1984Jean Claude Simon
 1984-1986Toshiyuki Sakai
 1986-1988Pierre A. Devijver
 1988-1990Martin D. Levine
 1990-1992Michael J.B. Duff
 1992-1994J.K. Aggarwal
 1994-1996Josef Kittler
 1996-1998Robert M. Haralick
 1998-Mar 2000Edzard Gelsema
 Mar-Sept 2000Horst Bunke
 2000-2002 Gabriella Sanniti di Baja
 2002-2004 Rangachar Kasturi
 2004-2006 Walter Kropatsch
 2006-2008 Karl Tombre
 2008-2010 Brian Lovell
 2010-2012 Denis Laurendeau
 2012-2014 Kim L. Boyer
 2014-2016 Ingela Nystrom
 2016-2018 Simone Marinai
 2018-2020 Apostolos Antonacopoulos
 2020-2022 Daniel Lopresti