IAPR Awards

ICPR Awards
King Sun Fu Prize
J. K. Aggarwal Prize
Maria Petrou Prize
P. Zamperoni Award
Certificates of Appreciation
S+SSPR Awards
Pierre Devijver Award
TC4 Awards at ICB
Senior Biometrics Investigator
Young Biometrics Investigator
ICDAR Awards
Outstanding Achievements
Young Investigator
Recipient Information
Procedures for Recipients of Prizes and Awards

Young Biometrics Investigator Award

Call for Nominations 2017

Biometrics is becoming an area of increasing interest to the Pattern Recognition research community. Evidence of this interest is the large number of conferences and other events that are currently organized and sponsored by IAPR and/or by its Technical Committee 4 on Biometrics (TC4). Moreover, there is a rapid growth in the number of organizations that are showing interest in deploying biometric technologies in different application scenarios. For this reason, IAPR TC4 has been very active in promoting biometrics in several scientific events and venues. 

The 2012 edition of the TC4 flagship event, the International Conference on Biometrics (ICB) in New Delhi, India, facilitated the establishment of the “IAPR Young Biometrics Investigator Award” (YBIA). The objectives and criteria of this award are similar to the IAPR JK Aggarwal award, except that it will be given to outstanding scientists in the biometrics field. The award will be given out in odd years. The recipients of the award will be announced at ICB or IJCB (International Joint Conference on Biometrics). At the conference, the winner will be asked to deliver a plenary talk.

The award recipient will be recommended by a special selection committee, appointed by TC4, and composed of at least three active members of TC4. One of the committee members will be the most recent past recipient of the award. The committee’s recommendation will be submitted for approval to the IAPR President.

Selection Criteria

The recipient of the 2017 YBIA is expected to be a young scientist, under the age of 40 as of 1st April 2017, who has made substantial contributions to the IAPR Biometrics community and whose research work has had a major impact in biometrics. The prize consists of a cash amount and a suitably inscribed certificate. The recipient of the 2017 award will deliver a plenary talk in IJCB 2017 (http://www.ijcb2017.org/ijcb2017/index.php)

Nomination Procedure

Each candidate must be supported by a Nominator who is responsible of providing the names of at least 3, and no more than five, endorsers supporting the nomination. The completed Nomination and Endorsement Forms must reach the Chair of the YBIA Committee, Prof. Arun Ross (rossarun@cse.msu.edu), no later than 15th August 2017.


YBIA Endorsement Form

YBIA Nomination Form

2017 Award Winner in Denver, Colorado, USA

Professor Julian Fierrez

2015 Award Winner in Phuket, Thailand

Dr. Gang Hua

2013 Award Winner in Madrid, Spain

Professor Arun Ross

Home | About Us | IAPR Constitution | Publications | Conferences | Committees | News | Fellows & Awards

Copyright 2019, IAPR. All rights reserved.