IAPR Awards

ICPR Awards
King Sun Fu Prize
J. K. Aggarwal Prize
Maria Petrou Prize
P. Zamperoni Award
Best Industry Related Paper Award
Certificates of Appreciation
S+SSPR Awards
Pierre Devijver Award
TC4 Awards at ICB
Senior Biometrics Investigator
Young Biometrics Investigator
ICDAR Awards
Outstanding Achievements
Young Investigator
Recipient Information
Procedures for Recipients of Prizes and Awards

J. K. Aggarwal Prize

Deadline for Submission of Nomination and Endorsement Forms is May 1, 2022

The International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the next J.K. Aggarwal Prize in honor of Professor J.K. Aggarwal.

Professor Aggarwal is widely recognized for his extensive contributions to the field of pattern recognition and for his participation in IAPR's activities.

The recipient is a young scientist, under the age of 40 at the date of the deadline for nominations (must be born on or after May 1, 1982), who has brought a substantial contribution to a field that is relevant to the IAPR community and whose research work has had a major impact on the field. The prize consists of a cash amount and a suitably inscribed certificate. The prize is derived from interest income from a special fund set up for this purpose.

The prize recipient shall be selected by the J. K. Aggarwal Prize Committee, subject to approval by the IAPR Governing Board, upon nomination by a member of a national member society of IAPR and by endorsement of four members, representing at least two member societies different from that of the nominators and nominee. Neither the nominator nor the endorsers are required to be IAPR Fellows.

Members of the IAPR Executive Committee, as well as of the J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee, shall be ineligible for the prize and may not serve as nominators or endorsers.

The 2022 prize will be presented at the following event:

26th International Conference on Pattern Recognition (ICPR)
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
August 21-25, 2022

The prize recipient is expected to present an invited talk at the conference and to provide a contribution to the special issue of Pattern Recognition Letters, which will include extended versions of all papers that received an IAPR award at ICPR 2022.

The nomination must be made using the special nomination and endorsement forms, and must be received no later than May 1, 2022. Both completed nomination and endorsement forms must be submitted in electronic form. The nominator as well as endorsers should email their completed forms directly to the Appointed Chair of the J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee via the specified email address:

Arun Ross
2014 J. K. Aggarwal Prize recipient and Acting Chair
Michigan State University

J. K. Aggarwal Prize Nomination Forms:
Endorsement Form (.doc)
Nomination Form (.doc)

2020 Award Winner in Milan, Italy

Professor Abhinav Gupta
For pioneering contributions to unsupervised and self-supervised learning in computer vision and robotics.

2018 Award Winner in Beijing, China

Professor Kristen Grauman
For contributions to image matching and retrieval.

2016 Award Winner in Cancun, Mexico

Professor Fei Fei Li
For seminal contributions to object and event classification using learning methodologies based on statistical and neuroscience principles.

2014 Award Winner in Stockholm, Sweden

Professor Arun Ross
For contributions that advance the state of art in biometric technologies and extend biometric infrastructure.

2012 Award Winner in Tsukuba, Japan

Professor Rene Vidal
For outstanding contributions to generalized principal component analysis (GPCA) and subspace clustering in computer vision and pattern recognition.

2010 Award Winner in Istanbul, Turkey

Professor Antonio Torralba
For algorithms and representations to exploit context in computer vision.

2008 Award Winner in Tampa, FL, USA

Professor Song-Chun Zhu
For fundamental and pioneering contributions to a unified foundation for visual pattern conceptualization, modeling, learning, and inference with applications in computer vision and pattern recognition.

2006 Award Winner in Hong Kong

Bernhard Schölkopf
For advancing the field of kernel methods and showing its wide applicability to pattern recognition problems.

Home | About Us | IAPR Constitution | Publications | Conferences | Committees | News | Fellows & Awards

Copyright 2022, IAPR. All rights reserved.