Click here for Top of Page

Conference Report:  ACPR 2011

Report prepared by Cheng-Lin Liu (China)

Text Box: First Asian Conference on Pattern Recognition

November 28-30, 2011
Beijing, China

General Chairs:

Tieniu Tan, IAPR Fellow (China)

Brian Lovell, IAPR Fellow (Australia)

Anil K. Jain, IAPR Fellow (USA)

The First Asian Conference on Pattern Recognition (ACPR 2011) was held at the Beijing Jingyi Hotel, Beijing, China. ACPR is a new series of regional conferences to promote scientific exchanges primarily for researchers in the Asian-Pacific Region, though it is open to researchers worldwide. ACPR 2011 was organized and sponsored by the National Laboratory of Pattern Recognition (NLPR) of Institute of Automation of Chinese Academy of Sciences, co-sponsored by the IEEE Beijing Section, and endorsed by the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR). The conference was attended by about 160 researchers from around the world.

ACPR 2011 received 272 submissions. Based on the reviews by 69 program committee members and 148 additional reviewers, 60 papers were accepted for oral presentation, and 82 papers were accepted for poster presentation. The Proceedings were published by the IEEE, and electronic proceedings (USB drives) were provided to the participants. The oral papers were presented in 12 oral sessions in six time slots. The poster papers were presented in two poster sessions. The main topics of accepted papers were pattern classification and machine learning, feature extraction and selection, image processing and segmentation, computer vision, object detection and recognition, video analysis and activity recognition, face recognition, biometrics, and speech recognition.

In addition to the regular paper sessions, three internationally renowned researchers were invited to give keynote speeches. Prof. Ioannis Pitas from Greece gave a talk entitled “Recent Advances in Discriminant Non-Negative Matrix Factorization”, Prof. Rama Chellappa, IAPR Fellow, from the US presented “Compressive Sensing, Sparse Representations and Dictionaries for Image and Video-Based Recognition”, and Dr. Jianchang Mao, also from the US, gave his speech on “Large Scale Statistical Modeling of User Response in Computational Advertising.”

The social program was also impressive. The registrants were invited to attend the welcome reception and the banquet. At the banquet, Professor Yasushi Yagi presented the proposal for organizing ACPR 2013 in Okinawa, Japan, November 2013, and addressed the welcome for participation. The shows at the banquet, including folk music, vocal imitation, Beijing opera, Sichuan opera action “change face”, and magic shows, impressed the conference delegates.

At the closing ceremony, three paper awards were announced and presented. The awards were selected based on an evaluation of review scores and presentation quality by a committee led by a program chair. The paper awards and the recipients are as follows:

IAPR Best Paper Award: Koichi Kise and Takahiro Kashiwagi, “1.5 Million Subspaces of a Local Feature Space for 3D Object Recognition”

IAPR Best Student Paper Award: Xin Zhao, Jianwei Ding, Kaiqi Huang, and Tieniu Tan, “Global and Local Training for Moving Object Classification in Surveillance-Oriented Scene”

NLPR Best Poster Award: Genquan Duan, Haizhou Ai, Takayoshi Yamashita, and Shihong Lao, “Human Centric Object Detection in Highly Crowded Scenes”


Click below for

more information

about the

ACPR 2011

Keynote Talks


Presentation of the

IAPR Best Paper Award

IAPR Awards

Right Arrow: Next
Right Arrow: Previous

Proceedings of the conference have been published by IEEE


Click here for to go to the


web page for the

ACPR 2011 Proceedings