Click here for Top of Page
Right Arrow: Next
Right Arrow: Previous

The International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the King-Sun Fu Prize in honor of the memory of Professor King-Sun Fu. (Professor Fuís biography appeared in the IEEE Trans. PAMI, May 1986 and is also available at

Professor Fu was instrumental in the founding of IAPR, served as its first president, and is widely recognized for his extensive contributions to the field of pattern recognition.

This biennial prize is given to a living person in recognition of an outstanding technical contribution to the field of pattern recognition, and consists of a cash amount and a suitably inscribed certificate. The prize is derived from interest income from a special fund set up for this purpose.

The nomination must be made by a member of a national member society of IAPR and by endorsement of at least five members, representing at least two member societies different from that of the nominator. The prize recipient shall be selected by the Prize Committee, subject to approval by the IAPR Governing Board. Members of the IAPR Executive Committee, as well as of the Prize Committee, shall be ineligible for the prize and may not serve as nominators or endorsers.

The 2012 prize will be presented at the

21st International Conference on Pattern Recognition (ICPR)
Tsukuba Science City, Japan
November 11 - 15, 2012

The nomination must be made on special nomination and endorsement forms, and must be received by the Prize Committee Chairman no later than April 6, 2012. Completed and signed nomination and endorsement forms must be submitted in electronic form. The nominator as well as endorsers should send their completed forms by email to the chairman of the Prize Committee:

Prof. Horst Bunke
Chair, K-S. Fu Prize Committee
University of Bern, Switzerland

King-Sun Fu Prize Nomination Forms can be retrieved here:

Endorsement Form (.doc)
Nomination Form (

Text Box: Past winners of the K-S Fu Prize:
Professor Horst Bunke
2010 Istanbul
Professor Anil K. Jain
2008 Tampa
Professor Josef Kittler
2006 Hong Kong
Professor J. K. Aggarwal
2004 Cambridge
Professor Thomas S. Huang
2002 Quebec City
Professor Theo Pavlidis
2000 Barcelona
Professor Jean-Claude Simon
1998 Brisbane
Professor Teuvo Kohonen
1996 Vienna
Professor Herbert Freeman
1994 Jerusalem
Professor Levin Kanal
1992 The Hague
Professor R.L. Kashyap
1990 Atlantic City
Professor Azriel Rosenfeld
1988 Rome

King-Sun Fu Prize

Call for Nominations

Nominations deadline:

6 April 2012


Nomination and endorsement forms can be downloaded from the

KS Fu Prize

page of the

IAPR web site.

Return to Home Page