Click here for Top of Page
Right Arrow: Next
Right Arrow: Previous

By the time you receive this newsletter, members of the IAPR community will be preparing for the 20th Edition of the International Conference on Pattern Recognition (ICPR), to be held in Istanbul, Turkey, on August 23-26, 2010. ICPR is IAPR’s main event and, for its 20th anniversary, is attracting a large number of papers in the conference’s six tracks. We all look forward to an exciting scientific program and to the opportunity to exchange ideas with colleagues and friends from all around the world. Visit the website of the conference at for updates on conference activities.

This year, the Governing Board has approved the recommendation of the K.S. Fu Prize Committee that this prestigious prize be awarded to Professor Horst Bunke from the University of Bern. The citation for the prize is: "For pioneering work on syntactic and structural pattern recognition." The ExCo extends its warmest congratulations to Prof. Bunke.

This ICPR will be the third time that the J.K. Aggarwal Prize will be awarded to a young scientist who has brought a substantial contribution to a field that is relevant to the IAPR community and whose research work has had a major impact on the field. This year, the Governing Board has approved the recommendation of the J.K. Aggarwal Prize committee that the prize be awarded to Professor Antonio Torralba from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The citation of the prize is: "For algorithms and representations to exploit context in computer vision." The ExCo also extends its warmest congratulations to Professor Torralba.

Both Prof. Bunke and Torralba will present invited lectures at the ICPR. Please consult the Conference Program for the dates and times of these talks.

We remind GB members to check the GB reserved area of the IAPR website, where info on the GB meeting will posted. GB members will be informed by email of when the documents will be available in the GB reserved area of the website. No mailing of the document will be done, and GB members are kindly requested to download the material relevant for the GB meeting directly from the IAPR website. The GB meeting will be held on Tuesday August 24, 2010, and will start early in the afternoon (2:00 p.m.).

This is the last “From the ExCo” column written by the outgoing Executive Committee. We all feel that it has been a pleasure and an honour to serve the IAPR community these last two years, and we wish all the best to the new committee, which will be elected at the Governing Board meeting.

We look forward to meeting many of you in Istanbul.

News from the


Executive Committee

by Denis Laurendeau (Canada)