Click here for Top of Page
Right Arrow: Next
Right Arrow: Previous

The IAPR ExCo would first like to wish an excellent Year 2010 to the IAPR Community. Speaking of 2010, it is worth bringing to your mind that it is an ICPR year…and a very important one since it will mark the 20th anniversary of IAPR’s major event. For those who would like to learn more about IAPR’s history and the ICPR, let me inform you that the excellent document that was prepared by Prof. Herbert Freeman on the history of the IAPR is now available on the IAPR’s website ( Our sincere thanks go to Prof. Freeman who has produced this milestone document on the IAPR.

Going back to ICPR 2010, the Organizing Committee is working very hard on preparing the conference. It is important to mention that the deadline for paper submission has been extended to January 25, 2010. Please visit the ICPR 2010 website for updates on the conference (

The nomination process of IAPR officers for 2010-2012 (president, 1st vice-president, 2nd vice-president, treasurer, secretary) has been completed by the Nominating Committee and the committee Chair, Karl Tombre. The list of candidates recommended by the Nominating Committee will be circulated to Governing Board (GB) members in January. It is important to mention that, according to the Bylaws, “Following the publication of the list of nominees [recommended by the Nominating Committee], members of the Governing Board may make further nominations by sending to the President the name of the candidate, written consent from the candidate and a curriculum vitae as before, together with a seconding letter from another member of the Governing Board. These nominations must reach the President no later than three months before the date set for the Election of Officers. Details of these further nominations will be distributed to the Governing Board prior to the Election." A period will thus be open during which Brian Lovell, the IAPR President, can receive additional nominations until May 24, 2010.

News from the


Executive Committee

by Denis Laurendeau (Canada)