Click here for Top of Page
Right Arrow: Next
Right Arrow: Previous

Deadline for Submission of Nomination and Endorsement Forms is February 10th 2010

The International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the third J.K. Aggarwal Prize in honor of Professor J.K. Aggarwal.

Professor Aggarwal is widely recognized for his extensive contributions to the field of pattern recognition and for his participation in IAPR’s activities.

The recipient is a young scientist, under the age of 40 at the date of the deadline for nominations, who has brought a substantial contribution to a field that is relevant to the IAPR community and whose research work has had a major impact on the field. The prize consists of a cash amount and a suitably inscribed certificate. The prize is derived from interest income from a special fund set up for this purpose.

The prize recipient shall be selected by the J. K. Aggarwal Prize Committee, subject to approval by the IAPR Governing Board, upon nomination by a member of a national member society of IAPR and by endorsement of four members, representing at least two member societies different from that of the nominators and nominee.

Members of the IAPR Executive Committee, as well as of the J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee, shall be ineligible for the prize and may not serve as nominators or endorsers.

The 2010 prize will be presented at the

20th International Conference on Pattern Recognition (ICPR)

Istanbul, Turkey

August 23-26, 2010

The prize recipient is expected to present an invited talk at the conference.

The nomination must be made on special nomination and the endorsement forms, and must be received no later than 10 February 2010. Both completed nomination and endorsement forms must be submitted in electronic form. The nominator as well as endorsers should email their completed forms directly to the Appointed Chairman of the J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee via the specified email address:

Bernhard Schölkopf

Chair, J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee

Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik

Spemannstr. 38

D-72076 Tübingen



J. K. Aggarwal Prize Nomination Forms:

                                       Endorsement Form (.doc)

                                       Nomination Form (.doc)

Text Box: Past recipients of the 
J.K. Aggarwal Prize

Professor Bernhard Schölkopf
2006 Hong Kong
Professor Song-Chun Zhu
2008 Tampa

Nominations deadline: 10 February 2010


Nomination and endorsement forms can be downloaded from the

J.K. Aggarwal Prize page of the

IAPR web site.


J.K. Aggarwal Prize

Call for Nominations