Click here for Top of Page
Right Arrow: Next
Right Arrow: Previous

The ExCo has taken actions decided during its meeting of July, 2009, in Nancy. The different committees (Standing and Technical) have been given feedback on the interim reports that had to be submitted before the meeting in preparation for the next months preceding the next ICPR 2010 in Istanbul. SCs and TCs will also be contacted with respect to the strategy that is being contemplated for offering improved web services to the IAPR community.

Speaking of ICPR 2010, members of the IAPR community are invited to visit the conference website ( since deadlines for submitting papers, workshops and tutorials are approaching very quickly.

The Chairs of the King-Sun Fu and J.K. Aggarwal Prizes have been contacted for announcing the Call for Nominations for the prizes. Nomination forms for the K-S Fu award are available at while the forms for the J.K. Aggarwal prize can be found at

The Chair of the Fellow Committee, Prof. Walter Kropatsch, IAPR Fellow, has sent a call for nominations for IAPR fellows. The electronic form for submitting candidates for IAPR fellowship as well as the endorsement form can be found at the following address The deadline for submitting nominations and endorsements is November 28, 2009.

The Chair of the Advisory Committee and co-founder of the IAPR, Prof. Herbert Freeman, IAPR Fellow, kindly agreed to update the history of the IAPR. Prof. Freeman submitted a first draft of the document to the ExCo in September, 2009. The reading of this document is captivating and is definitely a “page turner” for those interested in the creation of the IAPR and in the creation of learned societies in general. This important document on the IAPR can be viewed from the IAPR web site. 

News from the


Executive Committee

by Denis Laurendeau (Canada)

Calls for Nominations:


K-S Fu Prize


J.K. Aggarwal Prize


IAPR Fellows