Click here for Top of Page
Right Arrow: Next
Right Arrow: Previous

The International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the King-Sun Fu Prize in honor of the memory of Professor King-Sun Fu. (Professor Fuís biography appeared in the IEEE Trans. PAMI, May 1986 and is also available at

Professor Fu was instrumental in the founding of IAPR, served as its first president, and is widely recognized for his extensive contributions to the field of pattern recognition.

This biennial prize is given to a living person in the recognition of an outstanding technical contribution to the field of pattern recognition, and consists of a cash amount and a suitably inscribed certificate. The prize is derived from interest income from a special fund set up for this purpose.

The prize recipient shall be selected by the Prize Committee, subject to approval by the IAPR Governing Board, upon nomination by a member of a national member society of IAPR and by endorsement of at least five members, representing at least two member societies different from that of the nominator.

Members of the IAPR Executive Committee, as well as of the Award Committee, shall be ineligible for the prize and may not serve as nominators or endorsers.

The 2010 prize will be presented at the

20th International Conference on Pattern Recognition (ICPR)

Istanbul, Turkey

August 23-26, 2010

The nomination must be made on special nomination and endorsement forms (in the MS Word format), and must be received by the Award Committee Chairman no later than 10 January, 2010. Both completed and signed nomination and endorsement forms must be submitted in the paper form (no electronic submission). The nominator as well as endorsers should mail their completed forms directly to the chairman of the Prize Committee:

Prof. Anil K. Jain
Chair, K-S. Fu Prize Committee
Department of Computer Science & Engineering
Michigan State University
3115 Engineering Building
East Lansing, Michigan 48824

King-Sun Fu Prize Nomination Forms:

Endorsement Form (.doc)
Nomination Form (

Text Box: Past winners of the K-S Fu Prize:
Professor Azriel Rosenfeld
1988 Rome
Professor R.L. Kashyap
1990 Atlantic City
Professor Levin Kanal
1992 The Hague
Professor Herbert Freeman
1994 Jerusalem
Professor Teuvo Kohonen
1996 Vienna
Professor Jean-Claude Simon
1998 Brisbane
Professor Theo Pavlidis
2000 Barcelona
Professor Thomas S. Huang
2002 Quebec City
Professor J. K. Aggarwal
2004 Cambridge
Professor Josef Kittler
2006 Hong Kong
Professor Anil K. Jain
2008 Tampa

King-Sun Fu Prize

Call for Nominations

Nominations deadline:

10 January 2010


Nomination and endorsement forms can be downloaded from the

KS Fu Prize

page of the

IAPR web site.