Click here for Top of Page
Right Arrow: Next
Right Arrow: Previous

The International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the second J.K. Aggarwal Prize in honor of Professor J.K. Aggarwal.


Professor Aggarwal is widely recognized for his extensive contributions to the field of pattern recognition and for his participation in IAPR’s activities.


The recipient is a young scientist, under the age of 40 at the date of the deadline for nominations, who has brought a substantial contribution to a field that is relevant to the IAPR

community and whose research work has had a major impact on the field. The prize consists of a cash amount and a suitably inscribed certificate.  The prize is derived from interest income from a special fund set up for this purpose.


The prize recipient shall be selected by the J. K. Aggarwal Prize Committee, subject to approval by the IAPR Governing Board, upon nomination by a member of a national member society of IAPR and by endorsement of four members, representing at least two member societies different from that of the nominators and nominee.


Members of the IAPR Executive Committee, as well as of the J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee, shall be ineligible for the prize and may not serve as nominators or endorsers.


The 2008 prize will be presented at the


19th International Conference on Pattern Recognition (ICPR)

Tampa, Florida, USA

8-11 December 2008


The recipient is expected to present an invited talk to the conference.


The nomination must be made on special nomination and the endorsement forms (in MS Word format), and must be received by the Appointed J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee Chairman no later than 31st May 2008.  Both completed nomination and endorsement forms must be submitted in electronic form.   The nominator as well as endorsers should email their completed forms directly to the Appointed Chairman of the J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee via the specified email address:


Professor Brian C. Lovell, Appointed Chair J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee

School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering

The University of Queensland

St Lucia 4072

Brisbane, Queensland




J.K. Aggarwal Prize

Call for Nominees

The first

J.K. Aggarwal Prize

was awarded at

ICPR 2006 in Hong Kong. 



The recipient was

Bernhard Schölkopf


Nominations deadline: 31 May 2008


Nomination and endorsement forms can be downloaded from the

J.K. Aggarwal Prize page of the

IAPR web site.