Click here for Top of Page
Right Arrow: Next
Right Arrow: Previous

The International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the King-Sun Fu Prize in honor of the memory of Professor King-Sun Fu.


Professor Fu was instrumental in the founding of IAPR, served as its first president, and is widely recognized for his extensive contributions to the field of pattern recognition.


This biennial prize is given to a living person in the recognition of an outstanding technical contribution to the field of pattern recognition, and consists of a cash amount and a suitably inscribed certificate. The prize is derived from interest income from a special fund set up for this purpose.


The prize recipient shall be selected by the Prize Committee, subject to approval by the IAPR Governing Board, upon nomination by a member of a national member society of IAPR and by endorsement of at least five members, representing at least two member societies different from that of the nominators.


Members of the IAPR Executive Committee, as well as of the Award Committee, shall be ineligible for the prize and may not serve as nominators or endorsers.


The 2008 prize will be presented at the


19th International Conference on Pattern Recognition (ICPR)

Tampa, Florida, USA

8-11 December 2008


The nomination must be made on a special nomination and the endorsement forms (in the MS Word format), and must be received by the Award Committee Chairman no later than 30 April 2008. Both completed and signed nomination and endorsement forms must be submitted in the paper form (no electronic submission). The nominator as well as endorsers should mail their completed forms directly to the chairman of the Prize Committee:


Prof. Josef Kittler,

Chair K-S. Fu Prize Committee

Centre for Vision, Speech and Signal Processing

University of Surrey

Guildford GU2 7XH

United Kingdom


Past winners of the K-S Fu Prize:

Professor Azriel Rosenfeld
1988 Rome

Professor R.L. Kashyap
1990 Atlantic City

Professor Levin Kanal
1992 The Hague

Professor Herbert Freeman
1994 Jerusalem

Professor Teuvo Kohonen
1996 Vienna

Professor Jean-Claude Simon
1998 Brisbane

Professor Theo Pavlidis
2000 Barcelona

Professor Thomas S. Huang
2002 Quebec City

Professor J. K. Aggarwal
2004 Cambridge

Professor Josef Kittler
2006 Hong Kong

King-Sun Fu Prize

Call for Nominees

Nominations deadline:

30 April 2008


Nomination and endorsement forms can be downloaded from the

KS Fu Prize

page of the

IAPR web site.