The International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the first J.K. Aggarwal Prize in honor of Professor J.K. Aggarwal.

Professor Aggarwal is widely recognized for his extensive contributions to the field of pattern recognition and for his participation in IAPR’s activities.

This first prize (which is to become a biennial prize) is to be awarded at ICPR2006 in Hong Kong.  The recipient will be a young scientist, under the age of 40 (at the date of the deadline for nominations), who has brought a substantial contribution to a field that is relevant to the IAPR community and whose research work has had a major impact on the field. The prize consists of a cash amount and a suitably inscribed certificate.  The prize is derived from interest income from a special fund that has been set up for this purpose.

The prize recipient shall be selected by the J. K. Aggarwal Prize Committee,—subject to approval by the IAPR Governing Board—upon nomination by a member of an IAPR member society and endorsement of four members who  represent at least two member societies different from that of the nominators and nominee.

Members of the IAPR Executive Committee as well as of the J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee shall be ineligible for the prize and may not serve as nominators or endorsers.

The 2006 prize will be presented at the:

International Conference on Pattern Recognition

Hong Kong

August 20-24, 2006


The recipient is expected to present an invited talk at the conference.

The nomination must be made on special nomination and the endorsement forms (in MS Word format), and must be received by the Appointed J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee Chairman no later than February 1, 2006.  Both completed and signed nomination and endorsement forms must be submitted in the electronic form.   The nominator as well as endorsers should email their completed forms directly to the Appointed Chairman of the J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee via the specified email address:


Prof. Brian C. Lovell

Appointed Chair J.K. Aggarwal Prize Committee

Research Director IRIS

School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering

The University of Queensland

St Lucia 4072


Queensland 4072


Click here for Top of Page
Right Arrow: Next
Right Arrow: Previous

J.K. Aggarwal Prize

Call for Nominees

Text Box: Nomination deadline is 
February 1, 2006

Forms available at: