Text Box: News from the 
Executive Committee

By Denis Laurendeau

In the November Edition of the Newsletter, it was announced that the result of the GB ballot for the Nominating Committee and the K.S. Fu Prize Committee would be posted on the IAPR Web page. Unfortunately, the quorum was not reached and the ballot was reinitiated in January 2005. This time, the quorum was reached, and it is a pleasure to announce that Professor Rangachar Kasturi has been elected Chair of the Nominating Committee and that Professors Horace Ip, Attila Kuba, Ingela Nyström, and Yuichi Ohta have been elected members of the Nominating Committee.


It is also a pleasure to announce that Professor J.K. Aggarwal has been elected Chairman of the K.S. Fu Prize Committee for 2 years. Professors J.K. Aggarwal and Yuichi Ohta have also been elected members of the K.S. Fu Prize Committee for 6 years.


With this ballot completed, all IAPR standing committees are now formed and the Web page will be updated to reflect these changes (www.iapr.org/committees/).


Speaking of the Web page, those of you who have visited the IAPR site recently have probably noticed that its layout has changed. This results from the transfer of the site from its previous server, which was located in the Czech Republic and was maintained by Michal Haindl, to a new server that is now hosted at CEDAR, the Center of Excellence for Document Analysis and Recognition, at the State University of New York at Buffalo. The migration was done very smoothly and, although a few details still need to be addressed, the Web site is now fully operational. Our warmest thanks go to Michal Haindl who has maintained the IAPR Web page for so many years and to Professor S. Srihari and his team at CEDAR for taking over this important task for the IAPR.


The first electronic issue of the Newsletter has been published and the operation was a success. Larry O’Gorman did an excellent job in supervising preparation of  the  e-Newsletter and in mailing it to IAPR’s member societies. Here again, a few minor adjustments were required but, overall, the transition from hardcopy to electronic copy was smooth and it looks like more than a few trees will be saved by this initiative!


The IAPR Task Force for ICPR has interacted with the ICPR 2006 Organizing Committee and has checked the status of the organizing process. The year 2005 will be a busy one for the ICPR 2006 Organizing Committee with the deadline for paper submission being scheduled for December 15, 2005. Please visit the conference Web site at http://www.comp.hkbu.edu.hk/~icpr06/ for more details.

Click here for Top of Page