ICPR History

IAPR Foundation


During the 2nd IJCPR (Int. Joint Conf. on Pattern Recognition), the Standing Committee approved the proposal of establishing a permanent international professional organization for pattern recognition. After one year of preparation, IAPR was formally founded during the 3rd IJCPR in Coronado, USA (1976). The IAPR Constitution was approved by the Standing Committee and ExCo officers were elected. Three committees (Publication, Conference and Membership) were organized. A special committee drafted the Bylaws which were approved by the Standing Committee in early 1977. The 4th IJCPR was the first IAPR sponsored conference.

Location General Chair
 1973     1st IJCPR Washington D.C., USA K.S. Fu
 1974  2nd IJCPR Copenhagen, Denmark C.J.D.M. Verhagen
 1976 3rd IJCPR Coronado, USA A. Rosenfeld
 1978 4th IJCPR Kyoto, Japan M. Nagao
 1980 5th ICPR Miami, USA T. Pavlidis
 1982 6th ICPR Munich, Germany H. Marko
 1984 7th ICPR Montreal, Canada M.D. Levine
 1986 8th ICPR Paris, France J.-C. Simon
 1988 9th ICPR Rome, Italy S. Levialdi
 1990 10th ICPR Atlantic City, USA H. Freeman
 1992 11th ICPR The Hague, The Netherlands E.S. Gelsema & E. Backer
 1994 12th ICPR Jerusalem, Israel S. Peleg & S. Ullman
 1996 13th ICPR Vienna, Austria W.G. Kropatsch
 1998 14th ICPR Brisbane, Australia T. Caelli & A. Maeder
 2000 15th ICPR Barcelona, Spain A. Sanfeliu & J.J. Villanueva
 2002 16th ICPR Quebec City Canada C.Y. Suen
 2004 17th ICPR Cambridge, UK J. Kittler
 2006 18th ICPR Hong Kong Yuan Yan Tang
 2008 19th ICPR Tampa, USA R. Kasturi
 2010 20th ICPR Istanbul, Turkey Aytul Ercil
 2012 21th ICPR Tsukuba Science City, Japan J.-O. Eklundh & Y. Ohta & S. Tanimoto
 2014 22nd ICPR Stockholm, Sweden Magnus Borga
 2016 23rd ICPR Cancun, Mexico Eduardo Bayro-Corrochano
 2018 24th ICPR Beijing, China Tieniu Tan & Josef Kittler & Anil Jain
 2020 25th ICPR Milan, Italy Rita Cucchiara & Alberto Del Bimbo & Stan Sclaroff

IAPR Presidents

 1976-1978   King Sun Fu
 1978-1980 Herbert Freeman
 1980-1982 Azriel Rosenfeld
 1982-1984 Jean Claude Simon
 1984-1986 Toshiyuki Sakai
 1986-1988 Pierre A. Devijver
 1988-1990 Martin D. Levine
 1990-1992 Michael J.B. Duff
 1992-1994 J.K. Aggarwal
 1994-1996 Josef Kittler
 1996-1998 Robert M. Haralick
 1998-Mar 2000 Edzard Gelsema
 Mar-Sept 2000 Horst Bunke
 2000-2002  Gabriella Sanniti di Baja
 2002-2004  Rangachar Kasturi
 2004-2006  Walter Kropatsch
 2006-2008  Karl Tombre
 2008-2010  Brian Lovell
 2010-2012  Denis Laurendeau
 2012-2014  Kim L. Boyer
 2014-2016  Ingela Nystrom
 2016-2018  Simone Marinai
 2018-2020  Apostolos Antonacopoulos
 2020-2022  Daniel Lopresti
Home | About Us | IAPR Constitution | Publications | Conferences | Committees | News | Fellows & Awards

Copyright 2023, IAPR. All rights reserved.